Thailand visa exemption

Visit Thailand for up to 30 days (non-extendable) for 62 countries. Simply arrive in Indonesia and get a visa exemption if you meet the visa requirements.

Types of visa exemptions

Tourist Visa (TR)

Permits tourism, attendance at meetings, conventions, exhibitions, and yacht travel in Thailand.

Diplomatic (D)

Allows holders of diplomatic passports to perform their assigned duties in Thailand.

Visa exemption requirements

List of nationalities eligible for visa exemption

Visa exemption includes 57 countries

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Peru, The Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia (&VOA), Singapore, Slovak, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United States, Vietnam.

Visa exemption validity

The visa exemption is valid for 30 days and is not extendable.

Required documents

The following documents are required for a visa exemption:

  • A passport valid for at least 6 months
  • Outbound ticket from Thailand

Temporary Visa exemptions

Some countries have temporary exemptions in place for short-term visits to Thailand. These agreements are usually in place for one year. These are the current temporary exemptions:

  • China and Kazakhstan (Valid for 30 days) – Exemption in place until 29 February 2024
  • Russia (Valid for 90 days) – Exemption in place until 30 April 2024
  • Taiwan and India (Valid for 30 days) – Exemption in place until 10 May 2024

Meet our experts: